KGUN 9 On Your SideNews


Candrea, Mauga, and O'Toole all awarded by the Pac-12

Posted at 6:50 PM, May 15, 2017
and last updated 2017-05-15 21:50:23-04
Arizona Softball has come up big in the Pac-12 awards. Mike Candrea is Pac-12 coach of the year. Danielle O'Toole is named pitcher of the year, and Mauga is the co-player of the year.
It's the 12th conference coach of the year honor for Candrea, and first since 2007. Candrea, became the fastest coach in NCAA history, any sport, any level, to 1,500 career wins in 2017. Candrea guided his program back to a league title this season, the 11th in program history and first in a decade
O'Toole is earning her second first-team all-Pac-12 recognition as well as second all-defensive team nod in as many years. The senior leads the Pac-12 in ERA (1.08), victories (27) and strikeouts (191). She has thrown eight shutouts this season, including five vs. ranked opponents and her first career no-hitter vs. No. 6 Washington. 
Mauga is Arizona's all-time leader in career home runs with 89. She leads the Pac-12 in homers and is second nationally with 22, currently tied for 13th most in a season in Arizona history. Mauga is first in the conference in slugging percentage as well, slugging .869 in 137 at-bats. 
Making All-Pac-12 First Team are Jessie Harper, Katiyana Mauga, Mo Mercado, Danielle O'Toole, Mandie Perez. Named to Pac-12 All-Freshman Team are Reyna Carranco, Jessie Harper, Dejah Mulipola, Alyssa Palomino. And on the Pac-12 All-Defensive Team are Mo Mercado, Danielle O'Toole.
U of A is the number two overall seed in the NCAA Tournament and will host New Mexico State on Friday night.