TUCSON, Ariz. (KGUN) — In March, Arizona Governor Ducey signed SB1164 which bans abortions after 15 weeks with the only exception being a medical emergency.
Women who get an abortion after 15 weeks will not be prosecuted, but those who perform an abortion could be charged with a class 6 felony. If convicted, they could have their license suspended or revoked, according to Governor Ducey.
RELATED TRENDING TEAM COVERAGE
- Roe v. Wade overturned: Supreme Court paves way for states to ban abortions
- Where will abortions be legal if Roe v. Wade is overturned?
- Who is getting abortions and at what stage of pregnancy?
- Tucson will not make arrests at abortion clinics
- US abortions rise: 1 in 5 pregnancies terminated in 2020
However, if Roe v Wade gets overturned, Arizona has a pre-Roe law on the books that bans all abortions with an exception for the life and health of the mother. This law has no exceptions for incest or rape.
Those looking for an abortion, would have to travel out of state. California, Nevada, New Mexico, and Colorado all have protections for abortions between 15 and 24 weeks.
Greg Bradbury is a reporter for KGUN 9. Greg is a graduate of Syracuse University where he studied Broadcast Journalism and Spanish. Greg joined KGUN 9 in February 2021 as a Multimedia Journalist after working at the ABC National Desk as a Digital News Associate. Share your story ideas and important issues with Greg by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or by connecting on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
STAY IN TOUCH WITH US ANYTIME, ANYWHERE
- Download our free app for Roku, FireTV, AppleTV, Alexa, and mobile devices.
- Sign up for daily newsletters emailed to you
- Like us on Facebook
- Follow us on Instagram
- Follow us on Twitter