KGUN 9 On Your SideNews


Sean Miller named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Posted at 2:09 PM, Mar 06, 2017
and last updated 2017-03-06 20:53:03-05

University of Arizona men's basketball coach Sean Miller has been named the Pac-12 John R. Wooden Coach of the Year.

According to a release from the Pac-12, this is the 3rd time in 8 seasons that Miller has won the award. 

He joins Lute Olson, Mike Montgomery, Dana Altman, George Raveling and Lorenzo Romar as coaches with three-or-more Pac-12 Coach of the Year awards.

UofA players were also honored.

Freshman, Lauri Markkanen was named All-Pac-12 First Team.

Senior Kadeem Allen and sophomore Allonzo Trier were named All-Pac-12 Second Team. 

Markkanen and Rawle Alkins were named to the All-Freshman Team. 

Allen was also named to the All-Defensive Team. 

For a full list of Pac-12 awards click here