KGUN 9 On Your SideNewsLocal Elections


Ann Kirkpatrick wins Democratic nomination for Congress in District 2

Posted: 9:37 PM, Aug 28, 2018
Updated: 2018-08-29 01:14:29-04

Ann Kirkpatrick secured the Democratic nomination for Congressional District 2 Tuesday night after a brutally competitive race.

Seven Democrats fought for the nomination. Kirkpatrick and Matt Heinz waged a volatile battle of attack ads in recent months.

The seat was vacated by Republican Martha McSally, who secured the Republican nomination for Senate Tuesday night over three other candidates. Sen. Jeff Flake left that seat open in October when he announced he wouldn't seek re-election.

The general election is Nov. 6.