KGUN 9NewsLocal News


Where do southern Arizona members of Congress stand on impeachment?

OHalleran Kirkpatrick Grijalva photos
Posted at 3:34 PM, Dec 18, 2019
and last updated 2019-12-18 19:40:00-05

TUCSON, Ariz. — The House of Representatives plans to vote on two articles of impeachment against President Donald Trump Wednesday evening, but all three members from southern Arizona have already indicated how they'll vote.

Congressman Tom O'Halleran represents Arizona's first Congressional district, which covers Oro Valley, Marana and stretches all the way up to Flagstaff and the Grand Canyon along the eastern side of the state.

O'Halleran released a statement last week indicating he'll vote for impeachment, calling it a "somber day." He won reelection in 2018 with 53 percent of the vote.

Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick represents Arizona's second Congressional district, which includes much of the city of Tucson stretches east covering Benson, Bisbee and Douglas.

Kirkpatrick says she plans to vote for impeachment, calling for Congress to "hold the president accountable for his abuse of power and obstruction of Congress." Kirkpatrick won her 2018 election with 54 percent of the vote.

Congressman Raúl Grijalva represents Arizona's third Congressional district, which includes Tucson's east and south sides and stretches west, covering Three Points and Ajo. It also stretches south covering Nogales and north to include part of the Phoenix area.

Grijalva has supported impeachment as far back as 2017, cosponsoring a resolution calling for President Trump's impeachment in November of that year. Grijalva won reelection in 2018 with 63 percent of the vote.