KGUN 9 On Your SideNewsLocal News


USDA: Arizona, New Mexico areas eligible for drought loans

Posted at 7:02 AM, Mar 29, 2019
and last updated 2019-03-29 10:02:40-04

PHOENIX (AP) - The U.S. Department of Agriculture says it has designated four counties in Arizona and 21 counties in New Mexico as primary disaster centers eligible for emergency loans because of drought.

The agency said Thursday that producers in Arizona's Apache, Coconino, Greenlee and Navajo counties suffering drought-related losses may apply.

Twenty-one New Mexico counties are primary natural disaster areas: Bernalillo, Catron, Chaves, Cibola, Colfax, Eddy, Grant, Lincoln, Los Alamos, McKinley, Mora, Otero, Rio Arriba, Sandoval, San Juan, San Miguel, Santa Fe, Sierra, Socorro, Taos and Union.

Producers in the contiguous Arizona counties of Cochise, Gila, Graham, Mohave and Yavapai, along with Colorado's Montezuma; New Mexico's Catron, Cibola, Grant, Hidalgo, McKinley and San Juan counties; and Utah's Kane and San Juan counties also can apply.

The deadline is Nov. 22.