KGUN 9 On Your SideNewsLocal News


TPD hosts annual memorial to honor fallen officers

Posted at 4:36 PM, May 08, 2019
and last updated 2019-05-09 01:56:54-04

TUCSON, Ariz. — The Tucson Police Department is hosting its Annual Fallen Officer Memorial to honor officers who died in the line of duty on Wednesday at the department's headquarters.

This event happens ever year to take a moment and remember those who have died over the years. The guest speaker at the event will be Pima County Attorney’s Office Chief Trial Counsel, Jonathan Mosher.

The event will include the posting of colors by the Tucson Police Department Honor Guard, the presentation of roses and wreaths as commemoration for the fallen officers, a video tribute to the officers, a rifle Ssalute with taps and a flyover by the Tucson Police Department Air Unit.

The department will be honoring eight fallen officers:

Officer William Elliott - July 3, 1892
Officer William Katzenstein - July 26, 1902
Officer Robert Cummins - September 7, 1936
Officer Barry Headricks - October 28, 1974
Officer James Smith - October 28, 1980
Officer Jeffrey Ross - February 18, 1982
Officer Patrick K. Hardesty - May 26, 2003
Officer Erik D. Hite - June 2, 2008

The event starts at 6:30 p.m.