PHOENIX (AP) - A new law that takes effect on Jan. 1 will offer an exemption to Arizona's vehicle license tax for the spouses and dependent children of emergency workers who die in the line of duty.
A person taking the exemption will be able to register one vehicle without having to pay the tax and an $8 registration fee.
The exemption will apply to family members of law enforcement officers, firefighters and other emergency workers.
It will be available to surviving spouses as long as they don't get remarried, a child under 18 years old, an unmarried student between 18 and 23 years old, and an unmarried dependent who suffers from a disability that began before age 23.
Applications for the exemption can be found on Arizona Department of Transportation's website.