KGUN 9 On Your SideNews


Court rules to withdraw magnet status from six TUSD schools

Posted at 5:19 PM, Jan 04, 2017
and last updated 2017-01-04 20:14:11-05

Six Tucson Unified School District school have lost their magnet status for the upcoming school year. 

The six schools are Cholla High School, Pueblo High School, Ochoa Elementary School, Robison Elementary School, Safford K-6 School and Utterback 6-7 School.

The decision was filed in U.S. District Court on December 23, 2016, by Judge David Bury.

The decision states, "The Court finds that the decreases in racial concentration noted by TUSD is slight, and adopts the finding of the Special Master that '[t]here is no reasonable way to argue that these six schools met the integration criteria set by the Court'."

This all stems from a decades-old TUSD desegregation order saying no more than 70 percent of the student body can be made of one ethnic group. 

The full court decision can be seen here: