KGUN 9 On Your SideNewsLocal News


Sinema, McSally sworn in as Arizona's senators

Posted at 1:10 PM, Jan 03, 2019
and last updated 2019-01-03 15:10:45-05

TUCSON, Ariz. — Arizona now has two new U.S. Senators.

Republican Martha McSally and Democrat Kyrsten Sinema, who were opponents in a bitter election just months ago, will now represent Arizona in Congress's upper chamber.

Sinema beat McSally in a close election in November after Republican Senator Jeff Flake decided not to run for re-election. Then, after Sen. Jon Kyl decided to step down after a few months serving in the Senate after John McCain died in August. Republican Gov. Doug Ducey decided to appoint McSally in his place.

Both Sinema and McSally are the first women to represent Arizona in the Senate. They previously held seats in the U.S. House of Representatives.