TUCSON, Ariz. — Starting next month, Arizona drivers will have to pay more to renew a vehicle registration.
A new public safety fee is going into effect in Arizona Dec. 1, as established by state law. The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) says the fee will be collected when drivers renew their vehicle registrations. The fee will go into effect for drivers with registrations due for January.
For most drivers, the annual public safety fee is $32, on top of your usual registration fee. Other vehicles that are street legal but primarily drive off the roads, like golf carts, will pay $5.
Funds collected through the fee will go toward public safety and highway patrol operations, ADOT says. They'll also help pay for highway repairs throughout the state.