KGUN 9NewsLocal News


Unofficial results for City of Tucson primary nominees

Posted at 11:43 AM, Aug 27, 2019
and last updated 2019-08-28 00:09:46-04

TUCSON, Ariz. — Tuesday marks the first step in choosing new leaders in Tucson this year. Voters from each party will decide who to put on the ballot this November.

The most closely watched race will be for mayor -- with several democratic candidates vying for the top spot and no Republicans running against them. Whoever wins Tuesday's primary will face independent candidate Ed Ackerley in November in the largely Democratic city.

RELATED: Where and how to vote in the 2019 City of Tucson primary election

Here are the latest updates as to what's happened so far:

8:31 p.m.

There's more news in the race for Tucson City Council.

Lane Santa Cruz leads the Democratic candidates in Ward 1 -- Regina Romero's ward. She has 43%, with Miguel Ortega and Rob Elias far behind in at 20% and 21%, respectively.

Democrat Nikki Lee and Republican Michael Hicks were both running unopposed in their primaries in Ward 4, but their vote totals were closer than others -- 4,012 for Hicks and 4,933 for Lee.

Paul Cunningham handily won his primary, which he was running unopposed, with 7,280 votes.

8:00 p.m.

That was fast, the results are in! Remember, the primary election was a mail-only election, so the city has had most of the ballots for days. That made results much easier for the City Clerk's office to tabulate -- 135 of 135 precincts reporting by 7:41 p.m.

In unofficial results from the City Clerk's Office, Regina Romero had 49.5% of the vote, or more than 22,000 ballots. Steve Farley came in second with 37.7%, and Randi Dorman in third with 12.5%.

Click here for the unofficial results, which will have to be certified in the days to come.

7:15 p.m.

The City Clerk's office will start posting results on its website at around 8 p.m. Click here for the latest.

7:00 p.m.

And that's it! Election offices are no longer accepting ballots. It should be another hour before we get the first returns. Stay here for the latest on the results.

3:15 p.m.

Expect results starting at 8 p.m. We'll have full coverage on TV at 10, or watch live online:

1:42 p.m.

Still deciding on your vote for Mayor? Here's a look back at our profiles of the three Democratic primary candidates (there are no Republicans running for the office).

Randi Dorman
Steve Farley
Regina Romero

11:41 a.m.

Forgot to mail in your ballot? It's not too late! You can still drop it off at one of seven locations around the city until 7 p.m.: