KGUN 9 On Your SideNews


Oscars 2016: Complete List of Nominees & Winners

Posted at 3:29 PM, Feb 28, 2016
and last updated 2016-02-29 07:06:11-05

It was a big night at The 88th Academy Awards. Leo finally took home Oscar gold for his performance in "The Revenant" and Alejandro G. Iñárritu won for Best Director. The movie "Spotlight" took home the top award of the night for Best Picture. We have the full list of nominees and winners:


Best Picture

• The Big Short – Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner, and Jeremy Kleiner
• Bridge of Spies – Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt, and Kristie Macosko Krieger
• Brooklyn – Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Doug Mitchell and George Miller
• The Martian – Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer, and Mark Huffam
• The Revenant – Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent, and Keith Redmon
• Room – Ed Guiney
• Spotlight – Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin, and Blye Pagon Faust - WINNER


Best Director

• Adam McKay – The Big Short
• George Miller – Mad Max: Fury Road
• Alejandro G. Iñárritu – The Revenant - WINNER

• Lenny Abrahamson – Room
• Tom McCarthy – Spotlight


Best Actor

• Bryan Cranston – Trumbo as Dalton Trumbo
• Matt Damon – The Martian as Mark Watney
• Leonardo DiCaprio – The Revenant as Hugh Glass - WINNER

• Michael Fassbender – Steve Jobs as Steve Jobs
• Eddie Redmayne – The Danish Girl as Lili Elbe


Best Actress

• Cate Blanchett – Carol as Carol Aird
• Brie Larson – Room as Joy "Ma" Newsome - WINNER

• Jennifer Lawrence – Joy as Joy Mangano
• Charlotte Rampling – 45 Years as Kate Mercer
• Saoirse Ronan – Brooklyn as Eilis Lacey


Best Supporting Actor

• Christian Bale – The Big Short as Michael Burry
• Tom Hardy – The Revenant as John Fitzgerald
• Mark Ruffalo – Spotlight as Michael Rezendes
• Mark Rylance – Bridge of Spies as Rudolf Abel - WINNER

• Sylvester Stallone – Creed as Rocky Balboa


Best Supporting Actress

• Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight as Daisy Domergue
• Rooney Mara – Carol as Therese Belivet
• Rachel McAdams – Spotlight as Sacha Pfeiffer
• Alicia Vikander – The Danish Girl as Gerda Wegener - WINNER

• Kate Winslet – Steve Jobs as Joanna Hoffman


Best Original Screenplay

• Bridge of Spies – Matt Charman, Ethan Coen, and Joel Coen
• Ex Machina – Alex Garland
• Inside Out – Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley, and Ronnie del Carmen
• Spotlight – Tom McCarthy and Josh Singer - WINNER

• Straight Outta Compton – Jonathan Herman, Andrea Berloff, S. Leigh Savidge, and Alan Wenkus


Best Adapted Screenplay

• The Big Short – Adam McKay and Charles Randolph from The Big Short by Michael Lewis - WINNER

• Brooklyn – Nick Hornby from Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín
• Carol – Phyllis Nagy from The Price of Salt by Patricia Highsmith
• The Martian – Drew Goddard from The Martian by Andy Weir
• Room – Emma Donoghue from Room by Emma Donoghue


Best Animated Feature Film

• Anomalisa – Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson, and Rosa Tran
• Boy & the World – Alê Abreu
• Inside Out – Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera - WINNER

• Shaun the Sheep Movie – Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
• When Marnie Was There – Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura


Best Foreign Language Film

• Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia) in Spanish – Ciro Guerra
• Mustang (France) in Turkish – Deniz Gamze Ergüven
• Son of Saul (Hungary) in Hungarian – László Nemes - WINNER

• Theeb (Jordan) in Arabic – Naji Abu Nowar
• A War (Denmark) in Danish – Tobias Lindholm


Best Documentary – Feature

• Amy – Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees - WINNER

• Cartel Land – Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
• The Look of Silence – Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
• What Happened, Miss Simone? – Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby, and Justin Wilkes
• Winter on Fire: Ukraine's Fight for Freedom – Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor


Best Documentary – Short Subject

• Body Team 12 – David Darg and Bryn Mooser
• Chau, Beyond the Lines – Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
• Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah – Adam Benzine
• A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness – Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy - WINNER
• Last Day of Freedom – Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman


Best Live Action Short Film

• Ave Maria – Eric Dupont and Basil Khalil
• Day One – Henry Hughes
• Everything Will Be Okay – Patrick Vollrath
• Shok – Jamie Donoughue
• Stutterer – Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage - WINNER


Best Animated Short Film

• Bear Story – Pato Escala Pierart and Gabriel Osorio Vargas - WINNER
• Prologue – Imogen Sutton and Richard Williams
• Sanjay's Super Team – Nicole Paradis Grindle and Sanjay Patel
• We Can't Live Without Cosmos – Konstantin Bronzit
• World of Tomorrow – Don Hertzfeldt


Best Original Score

• Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman
• Carol – Carter Burwell
• The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone - WINNER

• Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson
• Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams


Best Original Song

• "Earned It" from Fifty Shades of Grey – Music and Lyric by Ahamad Balshe (Belly), Stephan Moccio, Jason "Daheala" Quenneville, Abel Tesfaye (The Weeknd)
• "Manta Ray" from Racing Extinction – Music by J. Ralph, Lyric by Antony Hegarty
• "Simple Song #3" from Youth – Music and Lyric by David Lang
• "Til It Happens to You" from The Hunting Ground – Music and Lyric by Lady Gaga and Diane Warren
• "Writing's on the Wall" from Spectre – Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith - WINNER


Best Sound Editing

• Mad Max: Fury Road – Mark A. Mangini and David White - WINNER
• The Martian – Oliver Tarney
• The Revenant – Martin Hernández and Lon Bender
• Sicario – Alan Robert Murray
• Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Matthew Wood and David Acord


Best Sound Mixing

• Bridge of Spies – Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom, and Drew Kunin
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff, and Ben Osmo - WINNER
• The Martian – Paul Massey, Mark Taylor, and Mac Ruth
• The Revenant – Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom, and Chris Duesterdiek
• Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio, and Stuart Wilson


Best Production Design

• Bridge of Spies – Rena DeAngelo, Bernhard Henrich, and Adam Stockhausen
• The Danish Girl – Michael Standish and Eve Stewart
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Colin Gibson and Lisa Thompson - WINNER
• The Martian – Celia Bobak and Arthur Max
• The Revenant – Jack Fisk and Hamish Purdy


Best Cinematography

• Carol – Ed Lachman
• The Hateful Eight – Robert Richardson
• Mad Max: Fury Road – John Seale
• The Revenant – Emmanuel Lubezki - WINNER
• Sicario – Roger Deakins


Best Makeup and Hairstyling

• The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared – Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega, and Damian Martin - WINNER
• The Revenant – Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman, and Robert Pandini


Best Costume Design

• Carol – Sandy Powell
• Cinderella – Sandy Powell
• The Danish Girl – Paco Delgado
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Jenny Beavan - WINNER
• The Revenant – Jacqueline West


Best Film Editing

• The Big Short – Hank Corwin
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Margaret Sixel - WINNER
• The Revenant – Stephen Mirrione
• Spotlight – Tom McArdle
• Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey


Best Visual Effects

• Ex Machina – Mark Williams Ardington, Sara Bennett, Paul Norris, and Andrew Whitehurst - WINNER
• Mad Max: Fury Road – Andrew Jackson, Dan Oliver, Andy Williams, and Tom Wood
• The Martian – Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence, Richard Stammers, and Steven Warner
• The Revenant – Richard McBride, Matt Shumway, Jason Smith, and Cameron Waldbauer
• Star Wars: The Force Awakens – Chris Corbould, Roger Guyett, Paul Kavanagh, and Neal Scanlan


What was your favorite movie of 2015. Let us know on our official Twitter page, @TheListShowTV!