KGUN 9 On Your SideNewsLocal Elections


Arizona primary elections: Everything you need to know

Posted: 3:02 PM, Aug 28, 2018
Updated: 2018-08-28 21:02:49Z

Arizona’s primary election day is underway.

RELATED: Find your polling place

With Sen. Jeff Flake deciding not to run for re-election, three Republicans and two Democrats are fighting for his seat. Not only are voters choosing who will represent their respective parties in races for the lone Senate seat, they are also selecting candidates for governor and several other positions.

Just one hour into Tuesday morning's election, voters reported issues at Phoenix-area polling places  as poll workers couldn't get voting machines set up on time. Those problems were resolved by early afternoon, according to the Maricopa County Recorder's office, with all affected polling places operational.

LIVE UPDATES: Arizona's primary election

Many Arizonans chose to skip the lines at the voting booth, opting instead to vote by mail. But the Pima County Recorder reported less than half of the 293,808 mail-in ballots in the county were returned by election day -- only 146,154 .

Here’s everything you need to know ahead of voting day.

What are the big races?

For the Senate seat, there are a number of Republicans running in the primary. Former Maricopa County Sheriff Joe Arpaio, U.S. Rep. Martha McSally, and former state Sen. Kelli Ward are fighting for their respective parties, while Kyrsten Sinema and Deedra Abboud are running for the Democratic Party.

RELATED : Arizona Senate primary run in Trump's shadow

Two of Arizona's nine congressional seats are wide open this year. All nine congressional seats are up for office; five are currently held by Republicans. Two seats -- the one held by Democratic. Rep. Kyrsten Sinema and the one held by Republican Rep. Martha McSally -- have no incumbent running.

Looking at the governor’s race, Republican Doug Ducey takes aim at a second term against challenger Ken Bennett. Steve Farley, David Garcia and Kelly Fryer are all vying for the Democratic Party’s seat.

RELATED: Republican governor, Latino Democrat favored

The incumbent is the heavy favorite in that race, but polling shows a tight battle shaping up for the general election.

Where can I vote?

Most primary election voters cast their ballots early but polling places across the state opened at 6 a.m. and are scheduled to remain open until 7 p.m. If you are unsure where to vote, visit the Arizona Secretary of State or the Maricopa County Recorder website to find your polling location.

When will the results be in?

Polls start to close at 7 p.m. and Secretary of State Michele Reagan’s office was expected to begin posting results around 8 p.m. You can view them at .